ArrowArtboardCreated with Sketch.Title ChevronTitle ChevronIcon FacebookIcon LinkedinIcon Mail ContactPath LayerIcon MailPositive ArrowIcon Print

Pritzker Prize-winning Japanese architect Arata Isozaki dies at 91

Best-known works include Museum of Contemporary Art in LA, Tsukuba Center Building

Arata Isozaki is also known for his international works such as the Sports Hall for the 1992 Summer Olympics in Barcelona, Spain.   © Kyodo

TOKYO (Kyodo) -- Arata Isozaki, a Japanese architect who received the Pritzker Prize, often considered the Nobel Prize of architecture, has died at home in Okinawa, his office said Friday. He was 91.    

Isozaki, regarded as a visionary who helped foster an architectural dialogue between the East and West, played a leading role in postmodern architecture. His best-known works include the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, as well as the Tsukuba Center Building and the Oita Prefectural Library, both in Japan.    

He died of old age on Wednesday in the southwestern Japanese prefecture's capital of Naha, the office said.    

"My first encounter in architecture was ground zero, no architecture, no city," he said when he won the Pritzker Prize in 2019. "I became interested in how architecture and a city can rise up from ground zero."    

Born in the southwestern city of Oita in 1931, Isozaki worked under Japanese architect Kenzo Tange before establishing his own firm in 1963.    

He is also known for his international works such as the Sports Hall for the 1992 Summer Olympics in Barcelona, Spain, and the Himalayas Center, a multifunctional cultural complex in Shanghai.

Sponsored Content

About Sponsored Content This content was commissioned by Nikkei's Global Business Bureau.

Discover the all new Nikkei Asia app

  • Take your reading anywhere with offline reading functions
  • Never miss a story with breaking news alerts
  • Customize your reading experience

Nikkei Asian Review, now known as Nikkei Asia, will be the voice of the Asian Century.

Celebrate our next chapter
Free access for everyone - Sep. 30

Find out more