ArrowArtboardCreated with Sketch.Title ChevronTitle ChevronIcon FacebookIcon LinkedinIcon Mail ContactPath LayerIcon MailPositive ArrowIcon Print

Mekong nations get started on their own infrastructure fund

China intimates that it must be involved in the five countries' efforts

The leaders of Myanmar, Vietnam, Thailand, Cambodia and Laos as well as an ASEAN official show they are united in their desire cut some of the strings that are often attached to foreign infrastructure loans.   © Photo by Yukako Ono

BANGKOK -- Five nations that share the Mekong River on Saturday adopted a five-year master development plan, vowing to upgrade roads, power grids and other pieces of infrastructure that connect and strengthen the region.

The leaders of Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam gathered in Thailand's capital for the 8th Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy summit.

Sponsored Content

About Sponsored Content This content was commissioned by Nikkei's Global Business Bureau.

Discover the all new Nikkei Asia app

  • Take your reading anywhere with offline reading functions
  • Never miss a story with breaking news alerts
  • Customize your reading experience

Nikkei Asian Review, now known as Nikkei Asia, will be the voice of the Asian Century.

Celebrate our next chapter
Free access for everyone - Sep. 30

Find out more