ArrowArtboardCreated with Sketch.Title ChevronTitle ChevronIcon FacebookIcon LinkedinIcon Mail ContactPath LayerIcon MailPositive ArrowIcon Print

Japan to call emergencies in 7 more prefectures, including Osaka

Government plans to expand decree with health care system strained

People wearing face masks walk in Osaka's Minami area on Monday. The central government is expected to expanda coronavirus state of emergency, already in place in the Tokyo metropolitan area, to cover Osaka, Kyoto and Hyogo prefectures.   © Kyodo

TOKYO -- The Japanese government on Tuesday decided to declare a state of emergency for seven more prefectures in a bid to stem a sharp rise in coronavirus cases and relieve pressure on hospitals, Nikkei has learned.

The additional restrictions will apply to the western Japanese prefectures of Osaka, Hyogo and Kyoto, the central prefectures of Gifu and Aichi, which includes Nagoya, as well as the southern prefecture of Fukuoka and the eastern prefecture of Tochigi. The emergency will last until Feb. 7, as it does for Tokyo and its surrounding prefectures of Kanagawa, Saitama and Chiba.

Sponsored Content

About Sponsored Content This content was commissioned by Nikkei's Global Business Bureau.

Discover the all new Nikkei Asia app

  • Take your reading anywhere with offline reading functions
  • Never miss a story with breaking news alerts
  • Customize your reading experience

Nikkei Asian Review, now known as Nikkei Asia, will be the voice of the Asian Century.

Celebrate our next chapter
Free access for everyone - Sep. 30

Find out more